2017 Writing Plans

So…I thought I’d just write a quick update to tell all readers and fans what the status is with everything, and my plans for 2017 🙂

  1. Fixing the eBook edition of The Harbinger Tales.

The first eBook edition that was sold between OCT2016 and JAN2017 had a lot of grammatical errors. If you bought the paperback or the eBook after the first week in JAN2017 then don’t worry. A lot of the errors were fixed before those versions went out.

I will start by apologizing for that. While indie publishing isn’t as perfect as the traditional variety, it should have been better than what was originally put out. I’ve already taken the steps to contact Amazon to push out the corrected version. They probably won’t send everyone an email, but there is a process to go into your “Managing Devices” page on amazon.com and update to the latest edition.I’m pretty sure it’s free so that a plus. I will post on this blog and at the end of my webs serials the process once it is out. The last thing I want is for people to be thrown off the plot of the story because of editing.

2. Continuing with all my web serials

I don’t want anyone to think I’m not going to keep going with the web serials. If you read A Change of Pace then you’ve probably noticed that it is winding down. I know a lot of Drew Hayes’ fan fiction gets abandoned and I can honestly see why. Keeping up a web serial is a lot of work and burnout is always hovering just around the corner. A Change of Pace itself is closing in on 1000 pages and almost 600,000 words. That’s a shit-ton in my personal opinion, and it takes me two days out of the five I write to put that chapter together on top of my regular 9-5 job. So, what I’m getting to after this ramble is to say that I DO plan to continue A Change of Pace. The chapter lengths might shorten a tad as I work more on my original projects, but this web serial holds a special place in my heart. It’s the first writings that I shared with people, and it gave me the confidence to start my original serials and self-publish a novel. I don’t want that to end.

Despite A Change of Pace being the first, Two Worlds might be the most popular of my web serials. It will continue to be published twice a week at this rate. If I need to drop it down to once a week just because life kicks me in the balls, or even permanently drop it down to once a week I’ll let you know, but I plan to keep up the twice a week while I can. I can tell you the TW universe is going to start expanding. New characters and new adventures are in store for everyone while still revolving around good old Coop and Ben. Although, for the first 170,000 words the story is mostly about Coop, and people have loved it 🙂

My newest project, I’m on TDY from Hell, has received a positive response, but it’s not as widely viewed as TW or COP. I’ll get it onto topwebfiction to get it out there and maybe RRL as well. It’s a different genre for me, but it grabs some of the fantasy audience I haven’t really grabbed with COP or TW.

My three web serials basically mirror my favorite genres to read: superhero, military sci-fi, and fantasy. What can I say, I write what I like to read.

3.) A Two Worlds eBook: Spring – Summer 2017

I’ve put out some feelers to see what people would think of a Two Worlds eBook. The few responses I’ve gotten have been positive,so I’ll probably go ahead with it. I think it will be broken up into more of a novella than a big eBook novel. Right now TW is upwards of 170,000 words which is 50% longer than The Harbinger Tales. It took about a grand to try and get The Harbinger Tales up to snuff before publishing it, and I just can’t do that with all of TW. I’ll clean some stuff up plot-wise now that I’m much farther into the serial and there might be continuity stuff to alter,  and I’ll get it edited. What I will do is break it up along the phases listed on my site. It will be multiple phases in one book, but I’ll break it up as best I can. Let me know if you like the idea of this. I do want to hear from you all about it.

4.) The Harbinger Tales 2 – Title Pending

My next big novel publishing will be the second Harbinger Tales book. I’m working diligently on it now. My first editor, my lovely wife, won’t get to it until the summer, so it’s probably looking at another fall-winter release, which I’m good with. One Harbinger Tales a year is my goal, and now that I’ll be adding Two World novellas to the mix, it’s an ambitious goal.

So that’s my 2017 plan as of now. I hope you all continue to read my web serials, buy my books, and otherwise just enjoy the stories that I tell. Because that’s what this is all about for me. Telling interesting stories.

6 thoughts on “2017 Writing Plans

  1. TW is my favorite of the web fiction you write but change of pace is also good. once you write im on TDY from hell i will definitely give it a try. Keep up the good work

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

